domingo, 6 de enero de 2013

Carmen Intorre Jr. - For The Soul (2012)

Drummer/Percussionist Carmen Intorre will celebrate the release of his new album, For the Soul (Random Act Records) at Birdland in New York on June 14 at 6pm. Accompanying the artist for the evening will be organist Pat Bianchi, guitarist John Hart and saxophonist Jon Irabagon.

Intorre is pairing up with producer Bob Belden on his debut album For The Soul; the organ-based session covers a wide range of musical stylings from Stevie Wonder and Steely Dan to Chick Corea and Weather Report. Joining the drummer/percussionist on the album are his Birdland bandmates, Bianchi, Hart and Irabagon, as well as acclaimed organist Joey DeFrancesco. The album swings within the tradition while expanding upon the vocabulary and boundaries of the idiom.

Currently Intorre performs with legendary jazz guitarist Pat Martino, touring extensively throughout the world with the guitarist's organ trio. He is always eager to uncover the latest information about music and drumming and to share that information with others. He states, "This is my job. I have to give back what I was given a chance to do." He goes on to explain, "Music is an opportunity for me to give up my soul, while in the process connecting with the audiences' souls as well. I want the musicians on the bandstand and the members in the audience to feel uplifted after a performance, to feel great about themselves through the experience that they encountered. That is what For The Soul is all about."

Born in Buffalo, NY, Carmen Intorre developed an early interest in music and began playing drums at age five. A graduate of The Institute for Jazz Studies at the Juilliard School, he has performed and recorded with numerous musicians such as George Benson, Larry Coryell, Wynton Marsalis, Monty Alexander, George Coleman, Eric Alexander, George Cables, Benny Golson, Richie Cole, Joe Locke, Lew Tabackin, Bobby Watson, Ira Sullivan, Bobby Watson, and many others.

A 2011 GRAMMY® nominee for his performance on the critically acclaimed album by Joey DeFrancesco entitled Never Can Say Goodbye: The Music of Michael Jackson, Intorre also had the pleasure of performing alongside DeFrancesco and Dr. Lonnie Smith on the PBS show Legends of Jazz, hosted by Ramsey Lewis. "Carmen is one of my favorite drummers; he has a very wide groove and strong beat, and most of all he swings his ass off! I love him!" says DeFrancesco.

Carmen Intorre Jr. - drums, percussion
Pat Bianchi - organ and keyboards
Joey DeFrancesco - numa organ
John Hart - guitar
Jon Irabagon - alto & tenor sax

01. Too High 6:45
02. Tergiversation 5:04
03. Carmen's Caddie 5:10
04. Cannonball 6:46
05. Steps 4:03
06. Only One 4:33
07. Good For The Soul 5:50
08. Gibraltar 4:45
09. Josie 6:56
10. Black Market 7:33