lunes, 10 de diciembre de 2012

Lee Konitz & Franco D'Andrea - Inside Cole Porter (1996)

Inside Cole Porter album by Lee Konitz was released Aug 31, 2010 on the Philology label. Altoist Lee Konitz and pianist Franco D'Andrea make an odd yet complementary couple on this duo set. Inside Cole Porter music CDs Both players are relaxed and thoughtful in their improvising, base their solos throughout their explorations of Cole Porter songs as much on the melodies as on the chord changes, and leave plenty of space as they slowly develop their ideas. Inside Cole Porter songs At first the effect is a bit jarring, as Konitz's melancholy flights compete with D'Andrea's sparse commentary. Inside Cole Porter album There are passages where the altoist plays alone for a bit (although never for a complete piece), yet the two musicians function very much as equals when performing together. Inside Cole Porter CD music Although there are sections where the ideas temporarily run short and there is some meandering, one or the other musician will suddenly come up with a new direction and the music picks up again. Inside Cole Porter music CDs This is definitely a set that requires listeners to put away their preconceptions and accept the renditions of Cole Porter songs on the musicians' terms. ~ Scott Yanow

Lee Konitz - alto sax
Franco D'Andrea - piano

1. The Song Is You 6:22

2.1 The Song Is You (Intro)
2.2 What Is This Thing Called Love
2.3 Everytime We Say Goodbye (Intro) 20:02
3. Everytime We Say Goodbye 8:41
4. I Love You 13:10
5. Love For Sale 7:41

6.1 Easy To Love (Intro)
6.2 Night And Day (Intro)
6.3 Easy To Love 5:20
7. It's All Right With Me 5:17


The Song Is You