viernes, 30 de noviembre de 2012

The Harlem Art Ensemble - Live In New York (1990)

A hot, swinging soul-jazz date featuring some of the unsung heroes of the genre! Lead by drummer Bruno Carr, a veteran of Herbie Mann’s group (also those of Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin and David “Fathead” Newman), the Harlem Art Ensemble also features top soul-jazz players Jimmy Ponder (guitar), Dr Lonnie Smith (organ) and Harold Ousley (sax). The players groove and shine on this previously unreleased recording, that features great versions of Miles Davis’ “Four”, and Stevie Wonder’s “All in Love is Fair”.

Jimmy Ponder - guitar
Lonnie Liston Smith - organ
Bruno Carr - drums
Harold Ousley - saxophone

1. Keep Talkin'
2. All In Love Is Fair
3. Invitation
4. That's When We Thought Of Love
5. Four
6. Blues For Beth
7. Strollin'
8. Bumpin' On Sunset